TALKCalgary - Forums Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register

You are viewing in limited guest access mode only. For full access please login or register

AIL - Never Again!
 Moderated by: Admin
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
 Rating:  Rating
AuthorPost
 Posted: Tue Oct 9th, 2007 08:43 pm
  PMQuoteReply
1st Post
meemo

Joined TALKCalgary: Tue Feb 6th, 2007
Mana: 
Well last week I had a job interview with AIL (American Income Life).. OK I thought.. yes I've never worked at an insurance company before but the money seemed pretty good so against my better judgment I pursued the 'opportunity' presented to me.  They stated they had a 'three-step' interview process after the preliminary phone interview.  So the first interview came and went with all positive feedback and a second was lined up towards the end of the week, which last Friday I went to.. everything went great and they offered me the job on the spot... so what went wrong you ask?  Well...

The guy I was interviewing with said I would do well in sales(he stated it about 7 times during my interview)  Well after re-enforcing many times how I didn't wish to work on a strictly commission-only basis he went back to discussing administration jobs with me.  He then went on to inform me that to work even in that field I would have to pay firstly a $30 'Security Clearance'... then a $312 'Admin/Registration Fee'.  Of which if I decided to pursue sales I would have had to pay a grand total of $972 to AIL before starting work or making a cent there.